SPRING BREAK? LEAVE YOUR FAKE

Hundreds of thousands of American college students will spend their Spring break from school on sunny beaches far from home. While most will be law abiding, hundreds a day will be arrested for DUI, vandalism, assault and other crimes. Many of these criminal offenses will begin with a fake ID,  and proceed to rowdy alcohol abuse, followed by the actual arrests.

Spring Break Facts: During spring break, the average male reported drinking 18 drinks per day and the average female reported 10 drinks per day.  About half drank until they got sick or passed out at least once. (Journal of American College Health) Alcohol is a fatal attraction for teens.  It is implicated in the three major causes of death of children and teens in this country.   (National Institute on Alcohol and Alcoholism)

“Bouncers and law enforcement will be on the lookout for these IDs.When packing your bathing suits and sunscreen for your week on the beach, we really recommend you leave fake IDs behind”. - Brian Zimmer, President

Underage spring breakers from across the country are inclined to be ignorant of the severity of penalties for use, or even possession, of a fraudulent identity document in Florida, where it is a third degree felony to possess a counterfeit driver’s license or ID card. That means an underage student with a fake ID can be punished by up to five years in prison and a $5,000 fine. If you’re over 21 and providing your own ID to a minor, you also face stiff penalties, including up to a $500 fine and up to 60 days in jail. Alabama also has tough penalties for fake ID possession. This contrasts dramatically with states like Virginia, where it is a petty misdemeanor for attempting to buy liquor with a counterfeit driver’s license.

Underage spring breakers from across the country are inclined to be ignorant of the severity of penalties for use, or even possession, of a fraudulent identity document in Florida, where it is a third degree felony to possess a counterfeit driver’s license or ID card. That means an underage student with a fake ID can be punished by up to five years in prison and a $5,000 fine. If you’re over 21 and providing your own ID to a minor, you also face stiff penalties, including up to a $500 fine and up to 60 days in jail. Alabama also has tough penalties for fake ID possession. This contrasts dramatically with states like Virginia, where it is a petty misdemeanor for attempting to buy liquor with a counterfeit driver’s license.

In December, 2013, operators of a counterfeit ID operation known as “Novel Designs” in Charlottesville, VA were sentenced to significant prison time.  During their three years of operation, they produced over 25,000 counterfeit driver’s licenses, including those of Arizona, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Louisiana, Maryland, Maine, Mississippi, Montana, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Ohio, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, and Virginia. “Bouncers and law enforcement will be on the lookout for these IDs.” Zimmer added. “When packing your bathing suits and sunscreen for your week on the beach, we really recommend you leave fake IDs behind”.